Rugby Leagues Memory Lane

Discussion in 'Other Footy (ESL/NSW/Qld Cup)' started by bruce, Aug 8, 2017.

1. bruce
    Join:
    Sep 1, 2015

bruce Warriors 1st Grader Contributor

and then there was this guy:
    Link has been hidden. Please Register to view.
    He was a genuine hard bastard.

2. Hardyman's Yugo
    Join:
    Jun 2, 2017

Hardyman's Yugo 1st Grade Fringe

What gave him a head start was probably being the ugliest player ever to pull on an RL shirt, up against some stiff competition:D:D As a player he was before my time but I met him once, he served me a pint when I was a student.
    How far back are we going Bruce? Can you recall Dick Huddart and Brian Edgar playing for GB or is that before your time?

3. bruce
    Join:
    Sep 1, 2015

Excuse me while I wipe the tears of nostalgia brother. I was a kid then.

They were in the 1962 team that beat the Kangaroos 2 -1 in the series in Australia. Imagine that these days? Australia was a three day sail by steamship back then so I didn't get to go over:(.

However I saw all their games at Carlaw Park, including the game against Auckland. The Kiwi side won the series and Auckland beat them as well.

Carlaw Park was standing room only. The atmosphere was bloody electric. It was like an English ground where you could see and hear everything. Those Chooms were the real deal and for the Kiwi sides to beat them was very special.

That shows how very strong international and Auckland rugby league was back then.

4. Hardyman's Yugo
    Join:
    Jun 2, 2017

Sounds good. I asked because they are probably the two most famous RL players to come out of Cumbria and I grew up on tales of both from older family members. My Dad played county schools RU with Edgar and Dick Huddarts son was the year below me at school.
    Mods may need to move this to a nostalgia corner:D

5. bruce
    Join:
    Sep 1, 2015