General Discussion Warriors Community Initiatives

Discussion in 'General Warriors Discussion' started by Ever Hopeful, Aug 23, 2017.

1. Ever Hopeful
    Join:
    Feb 24, 2013

Ever Hopeful 1st Grade Fringe Contributor

It is easy to get caught up in the on-field disappointments, but sometimes you forget how much this club does for the community.

I’m a secondary school teacher in the Horowhenua, which is an area with a lot of challenges – domestic violence, and poverty in particular.

I run several social project initiatives through my classes and a community action group. This year, amongst other things, I have a class who are filling backpacks with new possessions for children who are removed from their families and put in foster/state care in conjunction with local police and other advocacy groups in the area.

The students sent an email explaining what they were doing and asking for assistance to many different organisations. In response they received a very quick reply from the Warriors praising them for their efforts and offering to send Warriors “goody bags” for the children they are trying to help.

The students that sent the request for assistance were very excited and empowered to get an affirming reply from the club, and are now motivated to be further involved in other altruistic endeavours. Our aim at school is to create better people, who feel capable of connecting with their local communities and doing positive things for others.

The club has enabled my students to feel confident in their ability to do this, and for that I would like to give my humble thanks to the club. It is great to be a fan of this club on and off the field.

We are all very pleased to be offering some cheer to little people who need it during a tumultuous time. Who knows, there could be a future SJ in there somewhere (but hopefully also a big, angry prop or two)?

Well done NZ Warriors.

Last edited: Aug 23, 2017
    • Like/Agree Like/Agree x 24
    • List

2. RiceOwl